search menu flickr twitter phone angle-left angle-right angle-up angle-down file-pdf link-ext doc-inv sitemap location map calendar credit-card clock facebook-squared minus plus cancel ok instagramm download inkwell

Edward Reiskin, Director of Transportation of the SFMTA, Elected NACTO President

Oct 28, 2013

Phoenix, Ariz., October 28, 2013

In a keynote address at the Designing Cities: Phoenix conference, NACTO President and New York City Transportation Commissioner Janette Sadik-Khan announced that Edward Reiskin, Director of Transportation of the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency, would succeed her as NACTO President.

“Ed will take over NACTO at a critical moment as American cities are becoming increasingly innovative and setting their own, new national standard for street design,” said Sadik-Khan. “Big cities will benefit from Ed’s leadership as this organization takes on even greater significance in building the next generation of great American streets.”

In 2011, Reiskin was named Director of Transportation of the SFMTA. In this role he oversees the Municipal Railway (Muni), parking, traffic engineering, pedestrian planning, bicycle implementation, accessibility and taxi regulation. Reiskin utilizes Muni every single day, bringing the perspective as a customer to his role as leader of the agency.

Reiskin has more than 20 years of experience in the private, academic, nonprofit and public sectors. Before joining the SFMTA, he was appointed in 2008 by Mayor Gavin Newsom and then-City Administrator Edwin Lee as Director of the Department of Public Works (DPW) for the City and County of San Francisco.

“I’m thrilled and honored to be the next leader of NACTO,” said Reiskin. “Cities are charting a bold course in transportation innovations, and now more than ever, it is essential that we collaborate.”

“NACTO will benefit greatly from Ed’s vision for city transportation,” said Wylie Bearup, Director of the Phoenix Street Transportation Department and NACTO Secretary.

Reiskin currently serves as the Vice-President of NACTO and will assume the position of President on January 1, 2014. Janette Sadik-Khan will remain on the Board as the Strategic Advisory Chair.

NACTO Announces New International Affiliate Membership

In recognition of the distinct expertise of cities across North America, as well as the common challenges shared across borders, NACTO announced a new International Affiliate Membership, open to cities in Canada and Mexico. The addition of an international perspective will complement the existing diversity of NACTO member cities, benefiting current and future members alike.

“NACTO member cities can learn a great deal from our counterparts to the North and South,” said Gabe Klein, NACTO Treasurer and Chicago Department of Transportation Commissioner. “From pedestrian safety to air quality to bus rapid transit, our transportation priorities in Chicago have commonalities with our neighbors from Toronto to Mexico City. These are global challenges that we’re all confronting.”

NACTO welcomes new members Charlotte, Denver, Louisville, and Somerville, MA 

This fall, NACTO welcomes two new member cities, Charlotte and Denver, and two new affiliate members, Louisville and Somerville, MA. These four new members are committed to sustainable transportation initiatives, aiming to strengthen their cities and improve quality of life through better street design and transportation policy. These additions further bolster NACTO’s membership, now comprised of 18 major cities in the United States, with 12 affiliate members through the Cities for Cycling program.




NACTO is an association of 18 major US cities formed to exchange transportation ideas, insights and practices and cooperatively approach national transportation issues. Members include Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle and Washington, DC. Affiliate members of NACTO include Arlington (VA), Austin, Burlington (VT), Cambridge, Hoboken, Indianapolis, Louisville, Memphis, Oakland, Salt Lake City, Somerville (MA), and Ventura (CA).